First of all thanks for reading my coverage of my site http://blockfak.es
This is article number 4 in this series. If you haven’t already read the last 3 here are links to those
In this post I will show you how to use blockfak.es to get rid of many inactive account you follow who haven’t tweeted for last N number of days. N is a number that you decide on. In other words N can be 5 days 10 days and so on.
I recommend that value of N should be atleast 90 days.
So first things first
Login to blockfak.es. Only thing you need to do here is form home page click on “Signin with twitter” and allow BF to access people you follow.
Once you are in you should now click on Unfollow inactive users link from the navigation as shown below
Now that you are on “Unfollow” page you will get a notice if the cached data is too old to re-sync data (people you follow) with twitter. Here is a quick screenshot of what is expected
To proceed you would need to click on refresh button and you would have to wait for roughly 5-10 minutes or even more depending on the number of people you follow.
Once your refresh is queued you will see a message as shown below
Please wait for atleast 10 minutes before you refresh your window here.
Once data has been synced you will see this page (manual page refresh is required here)
You can now set the tolerance. Tolerance here is value N that I was talking about before.
It is recommended that you should click on Get Accounts matching my filter button before you run your filter. When you click this button a list of users will be shown which will be processed by the system later when you “Run the filter”
Good thing here is that BF gives you an option to Never unfollow a user as you can see the button above. If you click that button the setting is applied and will only be changed if you do a reverse later.
ok so once you are happy with the list its time to unfollow users that are no longer active. Click on the red button and wait for few minutes. Your job initially is queued and you will get a message similar to the one shown below
Thats it. run the same filter in a a few minutes time and you will see that the accounts matching your filter are no longer followed by you.
I still have to add email confirmation on job completions. So stay tuned for those.
I hope that you would like this service.
In case you have any questions or feedback please let me know through your comments